When the mords get wixed

0

April 23, 2009 by readlisaread

I teach a math class in the Teaching Lab. Not an ideal situation, but there it is. It’s a REALLY LIVELY bunch of grade 8’s, as well, but mostly it goes ok.

One of the rules, being that we are in the Lab is, of course, No Food or Drink. It happens that this class is now scheduled right after the 10 minute “Locker Break”, so there is no reason for them to be: late, hungry, thirsty, without their materials. Naturally, this is not always the case, and so, a Lecture was necessary the other day, in order to Remind them just when it is appropriate to be eating/drinking/etc. It was a stellar lecture in all regards, until one, small-but-fatal slip of the tongue. I meant to say that I took care of everything I needed to during Locker Break.

Instead I said, “I had my snack and visited the washroom during Licker (or Liquor) Break”

A beat of silence, and then true pandemonium.

It was some moments until order was restored.

If you don’t know me well, and wonder about the veracity of this story, I offer you this: It truly could only happen to me…..


0 comments »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

What are you searching for?

Wait…what did you say again?

Skip to toolbar