Fools bum-rush in

3

May 17, 2016 by readlisaread

I love how language changes. I love archaic words, clever turns of phrase, the rhythm and pattern of spoken word, the tongue-dance of poetry, the majesty of the Shakespearean insult. Along with those lofty ideals, I also relish the realm of pop-culture language (Some people can’t even with these trends. I’d say “Bye Felicia” to that.) I’ve lived through the obnoxious Valley Girl speak, and the more obnoxious fake-affirmative made famous on Saturday Night Live– (“Everybody loved it–NOT!”). I find it amusing that the former has reappeared (like all fashion trends do) and is now called the “Glottal fry and Upspeak”–re-popularized by the Khardashians and their ilk. The latter never really did go away, and pops up frequently in Facebook statuses and formal presentations alike.

But recently, I’ve started to notice how old school catch-phrases become re-invented. Being the mum of teenagers, I benefit from glimpses into pop-culture that I wouldn’t  otherwise enjoy. Not long ago, one of the offspring protested the veracity of something I said and called: “Bull-honkey!”.  Certain she meant “Bull-Hockey”, I asked her to confirm. The ensuing conversation was a hilarious argument about which version made the most (or least) sense.  She insisted hers is correct, I insisted it was a bastardized version of the correct one (mine).

Next is what inspired the title of this post.  This one also started with the GirlChild and I discussing something we witnessed on TV (in short, one competitor raced towards and collided onto the back of another one). She says “Woah! She really Bum Rushed him!”. Fearing sparking off “Bull-Hockey-Battle 2”, I asked her to clarify, because the REAL expression is “Giving someone the bum’s rush”. She pulled the classic “how to win an argument with your mum” ploy and called her brother for back up.  Replaying the clip, she asked him to confirm if what we witnessed was in fact a bum rush. “Oh yes, she totally bum-rushed that guy,” was the BoyChild’s response. Again, a hilarious conversation ensued, wherein they explained that their use of that version of an old classic expression derived from the idea of how a “bum” or “hobo” would rush an unsuspecting, er, someone. The GirlChild added the caveat that Bum-Rushing someone does not always, but may, include anal-penetration. Clarity is everything.

 


3 comments »

  1. Connie Lahaise says:

    I love it, especially the end

  2. Sweeny says:

    may include anal penetration

    Thats a Sockdollager!

  3. readlisaread says:

    Thanks for reading… especially the end 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

What are you searching for?

Wait…what did you say again?

Skip to toolbar