Jet Lag and Unfinished Bidness

1

July 26, 2016 by readlisaread

Greetings from my turf.  A trip that started out as one thing and turned into 3 others, with an added plot twist at the finish, has come to an end.  I arrived home to a hot (but not at all humid) summer’s day, and slept in my own bed and listened to wind in evergreens rather than traffic, and song birds rather than cicadas. I’ve a couple more stories to tell about Beijing itself, but I’ve noticed some strange things about traveling to such a distance I thought I would share first.

The flight from Beijing to and from Vancouver is about 11 hours. The time difference is 15 hours (Beijing is ever-so-slightly in the future). The greatest time difference I’ve coped with in the past is the 8 hours between the UK and the PNW, and I wondered if I would suffer much, especially considering I was only there a week or so.  Oddly, in both directions, I found the traveling day very easy, had no problem staying up to a reasonable bedtime, and arising at a reasonable time on Day 2.  Ah… but then Night 2 was a different beast altogether, and I wondered if the body wants to fight the urge adopt a new pattern– it will happily allow you a one-off (for those 3:00 am parties) but don’t try mess with the schedule.  It reminded me of my thoughts about transporting exotic birds.

The oddest thing about sleeping in a foreign land, or returning to your bed after such a trip, is the dreams.  I had the oddest dream episodes, one about an old friend in such an odd situation that I had to send a text describing my dream before it drifted apart. Last night my dreams included my father, still alive in the present day, taking me and my family on a last-minute train trip across Canada; and then me driving in Vancouver (this veers into nightmare territory for me) where I spent time with new friends of a naughty nature.  I also had my dog with me, a dog gone now almost 20 years. In all cases the dreams mixed old and new, fact with fancy, strangers with family.

Much like Beijing, come to think of it….


1 comment »

  1. Dave says:

    One big difference:; Flying from the PNW to the PRC is 11 hours of chasing the sun ( hey. wait up.) Flying from the PNW (BTW, We prefer YYVR) to the UK of GB and NI you’re… say you’re in a footrace with the Sun ( go on, say it…

    ) the Sun (he prefers Sol (yes, he, look at the icons)) runs the race counter clockwise, you run clockwise. You’re running away from the sun, however ãt some point you’re rlunning towards the sun. He passes you long before the halfway point.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

What are you searching for?

Wait…what did you say again?

Skip to toolbar