This time of year….

1

October 8, 2016 by readlisaread

There are only 365 reliable days of the year. Once in awhile, there are 366.  So, it stands to reason that you will know several people throughout your life that will, for example, share your birthday, or who had the misfortune to be born on Christmas or New Years Day. My birthday has become a bit of a joke– September 15, or, the first payday for teachers after a long summer. I have christened it “Teacher High Holy Day”. I’ve also thought of celebrating half-birthdays– you know, the 6-month mark between birthdays. Mine, though, falls on February 15th, so, again not ideal.

Anniversaries are odd, because they are not always joyful. This weekend, Canadian Thanksgiving, is a tricky one for me.  Thanksgiving, and a 3 day weekend.  Brilliant. My beloved niece’s birthday. Check Check.

The GirlChild and me

The GirlChild and me

But it also marks my dad’s passing. It’s almost 8 years, as of today. What’s remarkable– and not surprising, really– is that it does get easier to recognize each year, and more and more I welcome the reminder to think about the joyful memories. Surprisingly, other milestones become more difficult with the passing of time, yet that one becomes easier.  I suppose it has to do with the grieving process, and having had the opportunity to recognize and understand fully where I was and what was happening.

Here is a piece I wrote about at the time: loss-and-gifts

Star Sapphire

A ring my dad wore as far back as I can recall. One of the things I have to remember him by.

Sleeping Finn

Remembering the blessings, too– a cuddle with a new baby on a difficult day.


1 comment »

  1. David says:

    I’ve lost two family members on December 7. Thanks Tojo.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

What are you searching for?

Wait…what did you say again?

Skip to toolbar