Well….I’m a BAD blogger

0

February 28, 2009 by readlisaread

Just like the kids, I guess…..I set up this blog originally as a “Homework” task for a KnowWeek I was participating in….and I see that I’ve not gotten back to it since. Poor lonely Blog. “If no one posts to their blog, will the entire Internet still not read it?”

So, since this is All About IT, I actually have something to post On Topic: Yesterday I spent the day with Byte Camp Dave (O/O of ByteCamp). He was presenting a Flash animation workshop for me, a fellow teacher, and about a dozen surly teenagers middle school students. What a fantastic day! There is a possibility that I will post some of my fantastic animations in the future. First I must secure copyright….

Seriously, though, what a fantastic tool, and as with much of technology, the main limits are one’s imagination. What to tell the kid who looks at you blankly and says: “I don’t know what to draw/write/read about/think about”. Naturally my gut reaction of grabbing them by the shoulders and shrieking: “Are you FREAKING kidding me!?!” probably is an instinct best sublimated, but I do find it frustrating that these digital natives are so willing to be passive participants in their own experience. Fortunately, those are not the majority, and the wonderful, richly creative productions most of the kids produced were absolutely top drawer.

Now…..on with report cards…..


0 comments »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

What are you searching for?

Wait…what did you say again?

Skip to toolbar