The language of Technology

2

June 20, 2010 by readlisaread

I get teased at work– a lot– for being the staff geek (dork, dweeb, propeller beanie, etc).  Part of it is my personality– I welcome good-hearted jibes, as one can’t be too serious all of the time, and at no time take oneself too seriously.  Intentionally or unintentionally, I do bring it on myself, both by my choice of an endless array of Thin Geek-motif-ed t-shirts, but also by language.  The other day I bought a few new cameras for my program, and someone was asking about them. I got as far as “They’re 10 mega-pix, with a 3.6 optical zoom.  They also had 4 gig cards on sale……”

“Woah! Dial down all that techie-speak there, dweebie”, came a shout from the next couch, “we can’t keep up with all that crazy lingo you are dropping. Hmmmm-mrmrmrmrm–hrrrrm”  (The last bit being a stereo-typical geek-noise, made by nerdlings adjusting their flux-capacitors, if you can imagine that).

Isn’t it funny how vocabulary identifies us? I was thinking about the obviousness of that this morning when I came across this “comment” left on my last post:

“We have read through their own english speaking of around variations associated with web logs before you,furthermore dropping here’s optimal solution to finally create funding for state several blogprofessionals thoughts outlook similar to that of nearly as things she doesn’t need,although your reply happen to be not even, my partner and i not unlike you are those this webpage,and make sure to simply put i consider comfortable and additionally may perhaps study matter great, new,as well as a document consideration a person’s web page simply because”

The only thing that concerns me about Spam of this nature is the possibility of strings of it being analyzed sometime in the future, and the extraterrestrials who decode it and replicate it in an attempt to make contact are continually frustrated by our future-selves lack of ability to understand what they are saying.  They return to their planet/dimension feeling they have failed, when all along it was us….

That was sort of an uber-geek thing to say, wasn’t it?



2 comments »

  1. I have been visiting various blogs for my Dissertation writing help. I have found your blog to be quite useful. Keep updating your blog with valuable information… Regards

  2. There is something inside ,that they can’t get to , that they can’t touch. That’s yours. 《Shawshank Redemption》

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

What are you searching for?

Wait…what did you say again?

Skip to toolbar