I don’t care about FaceBook using my data, but it could at least buy me a drink first

0

March 4, 2016 by readlisaread

There are a lot of things I like– nay, gentle reader, dare I even say love–about social media.  Far and away my favourite thing is making connections and/or keeping connections to people that I might otherwise not have the opportunity to engage with. I’ve also gotten to have a deeper appreciation for people that I thought I already knew well, by getting to share their art, writing, humour, photos, passions… etc…

All the platforms are constantly evolving and “making improvements”.  Sometimes the  result is better end-user experience, sometimes it’s less obvious.

Recently, FaceBook started this “Your Memories” algorithm, where it will randomly reveal a photo you posted on this day one or more years ago . At first, I enjoyed it, and it does allow you the option of re-sharing the memory if you wish, otherwise it remains visible only to yourself. And many of the photos as they appeared on their anniversary have been enjoyable to see again.

It serves as a reminder, really, that what you share is there forever, and in this case, you don’t get to choose whether or not you are reminded of that hairstyle, that friend, that time in your life.

Screen Shot 2016-03-04 at 7.37.38 AM


0 comments »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

What are you searching for?

Wait…what did you say again?

Skip to toolbar