Monsoon anyone? Adventures in Beijing

0

July 21, 2016 by readlisaread

Well, mid-week proved to be the high point of the adventure so far– record breaking rainfall, which ground traffic to almost a halt.  My compadres were better-recovered from the day at the Forbidden City, and I elected to forgo the trip to the Pearl Market. I was somewhat regretting my decision when I saw all the loot they acquired, but that was lessened when they told the tale of the return journey by taxi– a 40 minute ride which ended up taking 2.5 hours, and there were times they were not sure they were going to arrive back safely.  Where is Gary when you need him!  Had I gone along, we would have required 2 cabs, and I don’t think the story would have been twice as good. It did allow me to go downstairs to “Foodie Town”, and enjoy dinner with the big group.  Fortunately the storm abated over night, and today dawned bright…. well…. Beijing bright.

I wanted to have another visit at the school, so, as I was well rested and had a good sleep, I got up early with the work-crew and tagged along on the subway with them.  After breakfast and a wander around the building, Shu was freed up to take me out for the morning. I could not have asked for a more extraordinary time.  I did get in a little shopping– nothing on the scale of Aladdin’s cave my mates acquired, but still pretty decent. But here’s the thing…. it’s WHERE I was shopping…. in the oldest, most ancient part of the city…. down narrow, cobbled streets, lined with shops, but what would have at one time been just a neighbourhood.  If you’ve ever been in York and wandered through the Shambles, you can get the idea… except now multiply that by….well….exponentially. Hutong Alleys were not to be missed…

My morning included a pedicab tour all around the lake, with the single most entertaining tour guide I’ve encountered yet.  I was reluctant to take a tour, because it seems cruel, and told Shu I’d take a motorized one, happily, but I was less sure about the manpower without electric assist.  After bartering with one driver, who was asking too much, we walked on a bit and another fellow wheeled up, in his human-powered bike, “No no”, we said, as he called out “Hello!  Beautiful!”, three times we walked on and three times he caught up, all the while calling “Hey! Hey Beautiful! Good ride! Beautiful!”.  Finally I looked at Shu and said ok… I mean, he could see what he was taking on, and he offered a much more reasonable price than the first guy, so off we went, on what I think might be the highlight of my trip– we’ll see how I feel about the Great Wall tomorrow…

The route took us around the perimeter of the mansion of what, traditionally, would have been the home of the second wealthiest (or powerful) man after the emperor (who, of course, would have lived in the Forbidden City). I cannot do the experience justice in mere words, so I hope the photos tell the tale.  (which will have to wait until my connectivity improves…..hang on)


0 comments »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

What are you searching for?

Wait…what did you say again?

Skip to toolbar