Shop Local, or Shop Loco?

4

May 8, 2013 by readlisaread

I live in a small town.  I love it here in my small town.  John Mellencamp and I know what’s up.  As it happens, though, bigger cities with Malls and Downtown Shopping Districts are less than an hour from me in either direction. Merchants in my little burg do feel the pressure to compete, and try various methods– downtown events and promotions, business association events and Chamber of Commerce recognition.  I’ve even been scolded, on more than one occasion, for my out-of-town or online shopping forays, by people who believe in shopping locally.  I get it, and I do make the attempt, from time to time, but I am frequently amazed by the shooting-in-one’s-own-foot attitudes I encounter.

#1 I heard about a clothing line that is not only sold in my town, but is manufactured only a few hours away– so, local squared. The line was recommended to me because it has funky/trendy clothes, and also a full size range, up to the upper plus sizes (and I am a Woman of Size).  The company doesn’t, however, offer online shopping. So, with a little reserve, I head into the store that serves as their local agent. The awkward conversation with the store owner/manager went something like this:

PlusMe: Hi!  I understand you carry the “Wynderli”* (*pseudonym) line?

SizeZeroClerk: Uh…..we do….have…..a few things…..

PM: I’d like to get an idea of some of the styles and colours– do you carry any of the plus-size range?

SZC: Uh….no…. we only carry up to a size 14 or 16.

PM: OK…… well…… could you order in something?  Like if I saw something on their website?

SZC: Well……yes….. we COULD…. but only as a pre-sale.  You’d have to pay for it, like, before we ordered it.

PM: Hmmm… ok, well, could I see some of their clothes, to get an idea, or do you have a catalog?

SZC: Well, no… we don’t really have a catalog… but sure, take a look.  #drifts off *DING GOES THE DOOR* #runs off with attitude of I have to help this other customer who looks like they might be easier to sell things too.

I guess I should feel glad she didn’t kick me out of the store and throw things at me, but I really had a tough time believing that was the best she could provide in Customer Service.  It happens that I was in one of the nearby bigger cities, and found myself in a store that carried this same line I coveted.  This conversation was a bit more effective.

Me: (Same opening about “Wynderli”* fashions) (*still a pseudonym)

Owner/Operator/size 0: Yes, we sure do– what are you looking for in particular, is it for yourself?”

Me: (Same reflection about custom orders/size range)

OO0: Well, I don’t carry the plus sizes, because another store in town was, though they are no longer in business…. I have been thinking about it. But I can order you in anything, and I can show you the line– there are 35 colours, and all kinds of styles.  But, do you want to try a few on to get an idea?  I think I have a couple of styles that would work….

And for the next 1/2 hour, she combed her store, bringing me garments to try on, and honestly commenting on what worked and what didn’t.  I walked out there with 3 things, and plans to go there again. She didn’t give me any different answers, but she put in the time and effort. And got a $500 sale. Most importantly, she valued my presence in her store.

#2 I had occasion to be organising a formal charity event for my school.  We have one Formal Wear store in town, that has a goodly number of custom-alter-able floor samples, as well as off-the rack gowns. I went in, introduced myself and my charity, explained the event (to be held in February), and asked if the store would be willing to sponsor (by way of loaning a dress) our MC.  Well, not only could the person at the counter not be bothered to even get up off of her chair, she didn’t have any idea if that was something the store owner would approve, but she would pass on the message.  Yeah… store owner, nor any one else, ever called or emailed.  Ever.

#3 I wanted to online-order some groceries, attempting to stream-line the whole deal.  I created an account at a local grocery store, made my first order, and (thought I) submitted it.  I went to pick it up the next day…..and it wasn’t there.  Long story short, the fault was mine, I hadn’t clicked the final “submit” button (hmmm… some irony in there…..), but the store went out of their way to make it right, extracting my order via their main office IT department, and apologizing profusely, and patiently working on a solution–even though it became clear the error was mine. The order was promised for the following day…. and sure enough, it was ready and waiting for me.

#4 A little tea shop in town attended a charity event I put on at my school, called me several times to organise and plan other events, put together an at-cost tea sale for me, allowing my charity to keep the profits, and through all of that, maybe only realistically saw a handful of new customers.  And yet…. they went above and beyond, with smiles on their faces, to help me.

Now, I still want to shop local, and I know it’s the right thing to do, but how about you realize it’s my choice, not my privilege, to enter your store, and maybe adjust your ‘tude accordingly.  Just sayin’.  I think I’ll go make a cup of tea….


4 comments »

  1. AlisonW says:

    Lisa, I totally get it – and, as a small business owner in a small community, I am appalled with any local business who has the audacity to exhibit a “HERE’s your customer service – boot to the head!” model. No customer, whether in a burg of 60 or a metropolis of 6 gazillion, should EVER have to go through feeling unworthy, being marginalized, or be sidelined. Ever.

    I am even more appalled that this happened to you where you are, because it was IN small community. I know my customers – they are my friends, my neighbors, my regulars. And even if they’re from out of town, or new to me, they are treated as such – because, often, they are either new to our town or are ABOUT to be new (’cause they’re scoping out property or such). So, perhaps it’s easier for me here than if I were a merchant in, say, Vegas – where I can see a bad attitude of “I’ll never see you again, so, meh” could prevail, especially in the thankless world of customer service…but. I still don’t buy that crap.

    If you hate being in customer service, don’t do it. I think you ran into someone, unfortunately locally, who isn’t suited for that career. Lisa, shop as local as you can – and with the best service that you can. You’ve hit on the best possible scenario (produced within hours of home? Come ON!!). Carry on, my friend.

    On behalf of the good local customer service providers, I apologize that this happened to you. (Not that I have any power or anything – but I was raised Catholic and I feel very guilty! Sorry!)

  2. readlisaread says:

    I wish I could shop at your store, Al. And not JUST because, well, beer. 🙂 I am more perplexed than anything– why on earth would you not try to make EVERY sale? So odd…. Thanks for reading!!!!

  3. AlisonW says:

    You don’t have to come all the way here…I’ll deliver, if that’s what it takes…yay, beer!

    I’m sharing your post with the woman who has the store next door to me. Anyone who knows me knows that I can’t be trusted to dress myself in a coordinated manner, ever, and I said as much to her (I had an occasion to dress for). She asked me to bring in my own accessories and bits that I liked, then combed HER store to find something to go with. And, as with your experience, honestly (and kindly!) made me look respectable. What’s remarkable is that she didn’t do it ’cause she’s my store neighbor – she does it with ALL her customers.

    Now THAT’s exceptional customer service. (Well, admittedly lacking in the beer-making department, but she can’t be everything to everyone!)

  4. KenJeffery says:

    So true how one of the most important items for sale, particularly in retail, is the service. The clothes on the rack, or food on the shelf is important, but in many ways, secondary. I can think of many shops that I prefer to frequent (large or small) because I’m always treated well. Sometimes all it takes is a smile, and some friendly conversation. I’m also sure that giving personal and friendly service must make the day of the service person more enjoyable as well. Everyone wins! And the biggest faux pas is in making an assumption about the buyer when they walk in the door. I have visited stores with ‘money in hand’ to buy something, only to leave prematurely because of a bad feeling, or having been turned off by the service. Good read, thanks, Lisa!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

What are you searching for?

Wait…what did you say again?

Skip to toolbar