…..and Nostalgia

0

January 16, 2016 by readlisaread

The other day I wrote about how I enjoy when my life paths “cross the streams“.  Part of that post dealt with my past and my present meeting in joy and celebration. Today I was reminded of how we, we humans, do have a tendency to observe our pasts through lenses that may alter our perception.

What is it about the past that we so crave recreating as The Good Old Days? My friends know me to be the pragmatic optimist– that is, the glass is half full, but sometimes it is half full of strychnine.  I think our propensity for mis-remembering the past has as much to do with wanting to rewrite it as relive it.

Would you rather not be able to remember anything, or be forced to experience memories as they were, right in the moment… without any Vaseline on the lens?

 


0 comments »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

What are you searching for?

Wait…what did you say again?

Skip to toolbar