Given names and Taken Names

3

February 18, 2016 by readlisaread

I have this thing.  My parents knew about it. I eventually made non-committal peace with it, but here it is:  I really have never, ever enjoyed my first name.  Mostly, it’s because, in 1965, the name “Lisa” was the single most commonly given name. I’m assuming just to girls, but I don’t judge. So, I didn’t like not being unique– “Just another Lisa”, which was an online pseudonym I used for a time. Ironically, I didn’t like that I was the unique one in my family– my parents and my only sibling all had the same first initial, so we’d get Christmas cards from relatives addressed to:  “J,J,J and Lisa”. So I felt at once and outlier and common as muck.

Well, today I got a little gift from the Universe.  I took a break from conference planning to take a tour in a nearby community– the Historic Fishing Village of Steveston (more on that in a future post). I visited the “Gulf of Georgia Cannery”–a national historic site.  It was a rainy weekday, so at the time I was the only visitor.  The cashier asked one of her young co-workers to show me in and point out the highpoints of the facility.  The young girl’s name was Lisa.  I told her that was my name, also, but I had never met a Lisa her age.  She laughed and agreed, and also agreed to this photo:

Two Lisa's, one by luck and one by choice.

Two Lisa’s, one by luck and one by choice.

….and then she went on to tell me that Lisa was the name she chose for her English name before her family emigrated from China.

Wasn’t that a little humbling for a grumbling Lisa.


3 comments »

  1. Name? Really? says:

    1. Charlotte Ezra
    2 Amelia Atticus
    3 Isla Asher
    4 Olivia Declan
    5 Alice Oliver
    6 Emma Silas
    7 Violet Henry
    8 Ava Milo
    9 Eleanor Wyatt
    10 Adeline Jude
    11 Elizabeth Jasper
    12 Cora Levi
    13 Evelyn Kai
    14 Lucy Jack
    15 Penelope Leo
    16 Adelaide Jayden
    17 Aurora Sebastian
    18 Hazel William
    19 Scarlett Theodore
    20 Arabella. Eli

    Arabella? The girls are pretty traditional. . Not Gertrude or Millicent or Helga. Boys? Old names too, Wyatt. Earp. Oliver ? Twist Cousin Wendell Holmes Wendel Douglas.

    Ezra at #1. Is that good? Ha-ah wah-waw. http://youtu.be/o3TQSaqHBtM

  2. Name? Really? says:

    No Lisa, close but no cigar

    Yvaine Rhodes
    931 Farrah Thane
    932 Shannon Guy
    933 Ireland Potter
    934 Blakely Bo
    935 Robin Cashel
    936 Asia Olivier
    937 Elisa Alonzo
    938 Trinity Roark

  3. Name? Really? says:

    Alisa (993) is less popular than more complicated forms of Alice like Alyssa or Alicia, perhaps because of its association with the once-overused Lisa.

    Lisa (F) is down another 5% this week.
    Lisa (M) is up 6% waatt?

    Play me out Shirley. http://youtu.be/5MJLi5_dyn0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

What are you searching for?

Wait…what did you say again?

Skip to toolbar