Visualization…. or obsession? Power or plain dumb luck?

0

August 14, 2016 by readlisaread

I read this cute story on FaceBook this morning.  It was about Justin Trudeau on vacation. (It’s been big news this week– he’s been photo-bombing beach weddings with no shirt on and doing cool stuff and just generally being charming and photogenic). Here is the gist of the story:

Trudeau's Tofino TangentI love the story, I’m delighted for the artist, and for the small town where this all happened (just a few hours from me) but here’s the part I am perseverating on: the artist says she spent a REALLY LONG TIME the night before visualizing him entering the store.  And then it happened. And she shares her story as “proof” that you control your own destiny, you just have to let the universe know.

Hm.

Let me think about this.  I don’t want to be dismissive, for I do believe there are powers at work that we don’t fully understand, but I kind of put this in the same place I put prayer and worry and obsession.

For, much like the artist in the article, I have wanted things.  Oh BOY have I wanted things… and I have written about them, painted about them, spent hours seeing myself in that situation I desperately wanted to see come true. And fallen short, many times, on having my visionings materialize (yes, I made up the word “visionings”, for “visions” maybe sounds a bit… you know… loco). Other times, I have had astounding things happen to me with absolutely no warning– I didn’t see them coming, couldn’t have imagined them, and suddenly BOOM, there is a life changing thing.

And I am also a bit suspect about the number of people visualizing the same things– ie, winning the lottery or defeating cancer– and we all know the odds on both of those things.  So, is the power lessened if it is divided?

My stronger belief is that things happen for a reason, and the Universe has a HILARIOUS sense of timing about when it sends you gifts.

I’m not ready to quite give up some of my obsessions  desires  wishes things I really want. But I fancy just picturing it won’t be enough.  I’ll have to work hard, plan, strategize and make choices and sacrifices, and then, maybe, if the Universe decides it, then I will be able to say the picture in my head came true.

That actually just sort of sounds like living, doesn’t it?


0 comments »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

What are you searching for?

Wait…what did you say again?

Skip to toolbar