A Charitable Surprise.

1

October 5, 2016 by readlisaread

 

img_5627Today, this post is dedicated to a friend. And we actually barely know each other.  We are also FaceBook friends, and it is thanks to social media that my life is enriched daily by the connections I make–and as in this case, keep– to people. This friend and I met four years ago when I was engaged to facilitate the introductory course in her cohort’s MA program. She asked me when we met last night (hang on, dear reader, I’m getting to that part) if it was ok that she had introduced me as “Professor”, and I laughed and said I guessed it was technically valid, but I feel weird about it, and generally refer to myself as a Facilitator.

So, the rest of the back story is this (and despite the fact that I said this post is dedicated to my friend, an awful lot of this bit is about me. Deal with it.) Teachers tend to anchor memories of students to particular events.  Our first class, for example, is usually one we never forget. It is as true for me with my adult learners as with my K-12’s. Andrée (my friend in question) was a member of the first face-to-face course I taught, but I think her cohort may have been unforgettable regardless of when I knew them. In looking through my photos to help re-tell this story, I found this, from them, at the end of the course: p1040317The course I taught was all about Learning Theory. I doubt the group realized that I, too, learned a great deal during my time with them, and much came back to me last night, as I waited to surprise Andrée.  img_5626

This is a photo from the event where I lay in wait… Andrée is a member of the Armed Forces, in the Military Police, and participated in this year’s Tour de Rock, a yearly charitable event by Cops for Cancer. I know the event well–every year as the riders come through town, they stop at schools, as well as other venues.  There are head-shaves, bottle drives and the Red Serge Dinner:img_5622Andrée had posted in Facebook that she was participating this year, and I watched her journey (even before the ride started) as she grew out, then shaved off, her hair, began her grueling training regimen, and essentially dedicated a few months of her life for one purpose: to raise money for Pediatric Cancer Research. Which is why K-12 schools feature prominently in Tour’s schedule, and schools in my district are involved every year. And why, half way through the tour which starts in Port Alice and ends in Victoria, I was delighted to do two things: Support a favourite charity, and give a particular shout-out to a friend.

Highlights: I got to the venue, found a place to sit, and awaited the arrival of the riders. After they filed in, to a raucous round of applause from the almost full house, they were invited to join any table. So I launched my surprise attack… In retrospect, the whole thing could really have gone sideways, and I could have let Andrée know I was attending– after all the room was school district representative / retired teacher – ridden. But I love surprises. So, as soon as the riders started to make their way to tables, I raced forward and semi-tackled Andrée, just as she was about to join another table. Remember I said we don’t know each other well…. but we definitely have a bond, made apparent in the joyous squeal and hug of greeting I received.  A hasty apology to the people I usurped, and back to my table we went. A lovely chance to sit and chat and share a meal (and a glass of wine): screen-shot-2016-10-05-at-8-38-22-am… and just catch up on her life in the past 4 years. All of this may not sound terribly gripping, but here’s the thing… This is important part–I am in awe of the drive people can find to give it their all for the sake of charity.  I’d like to be one of those people, but I’m just not… I like my comforts too much. I wanted Andrée to know that my surprise attack was about a lot more than just having a nice meal and catching up with a friend.  I want her to know that her months of training, her days riding for kilometres (in the rain…), sleeping on gym floors, catching a cold, cutting her foot badly enough to require 5 stitches, missing her family, missing her own cooking, fighting it out with a smile on her face and unmistakable gratitude in her heart for the opportunity to do ALL that for a good cause… none of that was lost on me.  I noticed. I am humbled, honoured, and as I said, in awe of her accomplishments and beyond grateful that I got to sit with her for a few hours last night, and to call her my friend.

img_5630In looking for some photos of her from our time at Royal Roads, I was amused to see that two I had were of her facilitating an activity.  Remember I said I learn from my learners all the time? p1040264 p1040303Ride safely, Andrée, you are remarkable.


1 comment »

  1. Patti says:

    Amen to that! Andrée is my sister from un autre monsieur and I love her (and you Lisa)!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

What are you searching for?

Wait…what did you say again?

Skip to toolbar