I was relieved not to see myself on your blog

1

May 13, 2017 by readlisaread

Ahhhh introverts.  God love them and their mysterious ways. A comment by a friend sent my thoughts down this path.  At first I was thinking about I vs E, and me, as a BIG E Extrovert has a hard time understanding why someone wouldn’t want a shout-out (in the form of a thinly disguised character serving as a plot device in a post). And it is true that sometimes people I write about are actual flesh and blood people walking around–such as My Nerdlings, and sometimes characters–like Bob, for example, are a compendium of a variety of flesh-and-blood people and stylized parable-people.

I realized that although I kind of think of this place as a place I talk about myself and my adventures, very often it’s not about me at all, but rather about my interactions with others.  Still about me, but I realized I needed to add a third dimension. There are Introverts, Extroverts, and then there are Narcissists. I guess if I was an Extro-Narst, then my Blog would be all about me and only me. If I was an Intro-Narst, my blog would still be all about me, but it would not be public, or at best, password protected. (In other words, a diary). Intro-Narsts would also want me to write about them, but be horrified if I did. Extro-Narsts would be frankly amazed that I didn’t write about them.

Is it all about me, or is it all about me and you? Or just you? E’s and I’s and N’s, oh my!


1 comment »

  1. David says:

    Thinly disguised…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

What are you searching for?

Wait…what did you say again?

Skip to toolbar